The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Whose conversion is this?

with 2 comments

Here’s a story of a Christian conversion.  Can you guess who’s talking?

So one Sunday, I put on one of the few clean jackets I had, and went over to [a church]. And I heard [a pastor] deliver a sermon …  And during the course of that sermon, he introduced me to someone named Jesus Christ. I learned that my sins could be redeemed. I learned that those things I was too weak to accomplish myself, He would accomplish with me if I placed my trust in Him. And in time, I came to see faith as more than just a comfort to the weary or a hedge against death, but rather as an active, palpable agent in the world and in my own life.

It was because of these newfound understandings that I was finally able to walk down the aisle of [this church] one day and affirm my Christian faith. It came about as a choice, and not an epiphany. I didn’t fall out in church, as folks sometimes do. The questions I had didn’t magically disappear. The skeptical bent of my mind didn’t suddenly vanish. But kneeling beneath that cross [at the church], I felt I heard God’s spirit beckoning me. I submitted myself to His will, and dedicated myself to discovering His truth and carrying out His works […]

Answer after the break.

Barack Obama

Barack Hussein Obama

Guess it?

The quotes are from a story at GetReligion.org that’s well worth reading.  As dpulliam, the post’s author, writes:  “I found this statement breathtaking and refreshing in its straightforwardness.”  And he or she quotes David Brody of the Christian Broadcasting Network, who “has never seen a presidential candidate talk about his salvation in front of a crowd:”

For Obama to stand up and talk about how Jesus changed his life, my friends that takes guts. You may disagree with everything he’s about, you may disagree with his policy goals but as Christians, shouldn’t we like it when someone talks about Christ being the missing ingredient in his life?

Ya think?

sig1_100w

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Perhaps I’m a little late in replying to this, but nonetheless, it spurned me to post a comment.

    It seems that when a man enters the political sphere, he is required to make a statement regarding the life-altering influence of Christianity or another dominant religion in that area. Those who fail to do so will never gain the trust of the devout religious followers who consistently make up a large part of any demographic.

    Does this mean that a non-religious individual cannot succeed in office? Does the guiding hand of God play such a strong role in decision making that unguided persons cannot effectively hold office?

    I believe that a political candidate must present himself in the least offensive light possible. An agnostic may vote for a devout Christian, but a devout Christian will never vote for an agnostic. What does this tell us about our voters?

    Not to mention that religious affiliations do not bode well for a leader’s ability to effectively deal with sensitive religious issues from a neutral standpoint. How does one confront secular corruption when the very confrontation of the issue means that your creator will doom you to an eternity of suffering.

    I am not saying that a non-religious person is the ideal candidate; corruption exists in all spheres, of course. What I am saying, however, is that the voting populations need to realize that open religious affiliations do not a good political candidate make.

    Steve G. Allan

    Steve G. Allan

    October 13, 2010 at 1:39 pm

  2. I’m disappointed in and frustrated by our brothers and sisters who are republicans first and Christians second, although encouraged that more seem to awaken every day.

    It astounds me that they would support Bush/Cheney come what may, but won’t believe anything but ill will and evil intent of Obama regardless of his public professions of faith (even when speaking in Cairo) and his verifiably Christ-like life of service to the underprivileged.

    Related to your “Arizona Pastor …”, just, wow. How do we get so warped? How can someone professing faith in the man who said love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you come up with something like that?

    I guess by taking a complex issue (abortion), applying the sort of spectacular oversimplification at which evangelicals seem to excel, and then allowing yourself to believe an absurd demonization that 1/2 of the nation hates babies and wants them all dead, and that this is the ONLY thing that is important.

    Yikes.

    Joe Hayes

    September 12, 2009 at 9:51 pm


Leave a Reply

