The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

William Ayers chats with reporters

with 2 comments

While waiting for the Grant Park rally to begin, reporters knock on William Ayers’ door. The truth?

When he said he wished he’d “done more,” he didn’t mean “bombed more.” He wishes he’d been more unifying, more principled in his opposition to the Vietnam war. He barely knows Barack Obama.

clipped from www.newyorker.com
He said that he laughed when he listened to Sarah Palin’s descriptions of Obama “palling around with terrorists.” In fact, Ayers said that he knew Obama only slightly: “I think my relationship with Obama was probably like that of thousands of others in Chicago and, like millions and millions of others, I wished I knew him better.” […]
Ayers said that he had never meant to imply, in an interview with the Times, published coincidentally on 9/11, that he somehow wished he and the Weathermen had committed further acts of violence […]
Instead, he said, “I wish I had done more, but it doesn’t mean I wish we’d bombed more[…]
“While we did claim several extreme acts, they were acts of extreme radicalism against property,” he said. “We killed no one and hurt no one. Three of our people killed themselves.” And yet he was not without regrets […]
“I wish I had been wiser,” Ayers said. “I wish I had been more effective, I wish I’d been more unifying, I wish I’d been more principled […]

IMG_0348_revise1.jpg
blog it

In other words, the whole “palling around with terrorists” scare was Rove-style Politics 101.  Here’s hoping that those so ethically challenged awaken to the fact that most Americans declined to believe them.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , Monte Asbury

Written by Monte

November 7, 2008 at 9:34 pm

Posted in Politics

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He’s got a book coming out. We’ll see.
    By the way – remember those Boston radicals – the ones who dumped British tea into Boston harbor? They never expressed remorse, either.

    Monte

    November 8, 2008 at 9:02 pm

  2. KOOL AID ALERT…KOOL AID ALERT
    Name us one, just one, just one, just one, time when this guy showed any remorse for these bombings.
    More left wing koolaid. You’ve have been hooked by the Obama messianic propaganda machine hook line and sinker.

    Paul

    November 8, 2008 at 4:59 pm


Leave a Reply

