The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

More on the arrest of Amy Goodman in St Paul

with 2 comments

DemocracyNow!)

Goodman Arrested (photo: Democracy Now!)

I wrote of the outrageous arrest of veteran journalist Amy Goodman outside the Republican National Convention a few days ago.  Here’s her account, excerpted from the Pioneer Press’s Twin-Cities Online:

Goodman said she was on the convention floor, interviewing […], when she heard that her producers had been arrested and were bloodied. […] she immediately ran from the Xcel Energy Center to the site of the arrests, in a parking lot […]

“I went up the riot police line. […] I said, ‘I’d like to talk to a commanding officer.’ ”  She […] tried to ask why the producers were under arrest.

“They took me, handcuffed me immediately, said, ‘You’re under arrest,’ “ Goodman said. “They pushed me to the ground. I said, ‘You can clearly see I have all the proper credentials, I have my security clearance for the (convention) floor.’ “

Kouddous said he and Salazar [the producers] had just returned from covering Monday’s peace march […] when they saw, from the window of their Jackson Street office, riot police on the street. Salazar grabbed a camera and he got a microphone. […]

“They just knocked me to the ground, grabbed my arms,” Salazar said. An officer put his boot between her shoulder blades and someone grabbed her leg, she said. They ordered her to put her face on the ground.

When Kouddous saw what was happening, he said he told police, “I’m media, she’s my colleague, please release her.” Kouddous said two or three officers then grabbed him. He said they threw him against a wall and to the ground. An officer kicked him twice in chest, Kouddous said.

Meanwhile, turns out that the film group I-Witness, who were among the first to be raided at gunpoint last Saturday, have been raided again by police. I-Witness has recorded police misconduct in both the Twin Cities and in New York City (at the last Republican Convention), resulting in the exposure of police lying and dismissal of hundreds of cases. NYCPD has assisted in preparations for this RNC in St Paul.


Tags: , , , , , , , , Monte Asbury

Written by Monte

September 4, 2008 at 4:30 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I made a little video collage “celebrating” the GOP convention. A bit of “Fantasy vs. Truth”. Check it out and tell me what you think:

    ralfast

    September 19, 2008 at 10:26 am

  2. saw the video and now this…thanks so much for covering this…this the the sort of evidence that this country is in terrible terrible shape in ways so frightening I sometimes just freeze….paralysis…

    I wish I knew what to do besides feel frustrated, angry and afraid…along with the occasional letters here and there…

    do you feel empowered to do anything about stuff like this Monte? I want to learn how to do something that allows me to believe I’m making a difference.

    giannakali

    September 5, 2008 at 11:14 am


Leave a Reply

