The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Huckabee on Wright: “I probably would, too.”

with 5 comments

I sure admire Mike Huckabee’s tender heart. I can think of no way it could be to his political gain to say these words; perhaps they are more admirable for it. It looks like genuine humility.

Mike HuckabeeAs easy as it is for those of us who are white to look back and say, “That’s a terrible statement,” I grew up in a very segregated South, and I think that you have to cut some slack. And I’m going to be probably the only conservative in America who’s going to say something like this, but I’m just telling you: We’ve got to cut some slack to people who grew up being called names, being told, “You have to sit in the balcony when you go to the movie. You have to go to the back door to go into the restaurant. And you can’t sit out there with everyone else. There’s a separate waiting room in the doctor’s office. Here’s where you sit on the bus.” And you know what? Sometimes people do have a chip on their shoulder and resentment. And you have to just say, I probably would too. I probably would too. In fact, I may have had … more of a chip on my shoulder had it been me.

Mike Huckabee, offering his perspective on the preaching of Rev. Jeremiah Wright. (Source: MSNBC, quoted in Sojomail)

The more I read it, the more I love it. I salute you, Governor; you look like Jesus tonight.


Tags: , , , , , Monte Asbury

Written by Monte

March 27, 2008 at 5:54 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Huckabee on Wright: “I probably would, too.” � Monte Asbury’s Blog: As easy as it is for those of us who are white to look back and say, “That’s a terrible statement,” I grew up in a very segregated South, and I think that you have to cut some slack. And I’m going to be probably the only conservative in America who’s going to say something like this, but I’m just telling you: We’ve got to cut some slack to people who grew up being called names, being told, “You have to sit in the balcony when you go to the movie. You have to go to the back door to go into the restaurant. And you can’t sit out there with everyone else. There’s a separate waiting room in the doctor’s office. Here’s where you sit on the bus.” And you know what? Sometimes people do have a chip on their shoulder and resentment. And you have to just say, I probably would too. I probably would too. In fact, I may have had … more of a chip on my shoulder had it been me. Rate this:Share this:FacebookTwitterTumblrMorePinterestStumbleUponLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Posted in politics, religion, USA and tagged Barack Obama, Jeremiah Wright, liberation theology, Mike Huckabee, US politics […]

  2. […] Huckabee on Wright: “I probably would, too.” � Monte Asbury’s Blog: As easy as it is for those of us who are white to look back and say, “That’s a terrible statement,” I grew up in a very segregated South, and I think that you have to cut some slack. And I’m going to be probably the only conservative in America who’s going to say something like this, but I’m just telling you: We’ve got to cut some slack to people who grew up being called names, being told, “You have to sit in the balcony when you go to the movie. You have to go to the back door to go into the restaurant. And you can’t sit out there with everyone else. There’s a separate waiting room in the doctor’s office. Here’s where you sit on the bus.” And you know what? Sometimes people do have a chip on their shoulder and resentment. And you have to just say, I probably would too. I probably would too. In fact, I may have had … more of a chip on my shoulder had it been me. […]

  3. I liked Huckabee while he was campaigning…not his politics…but I sensed he had integrity…I see I was right.

    Monte Says: Refreshing, isn’t it? Would that all in politics were so big-hearted!

    giannakali

    March 29, 2008 at 1:30 pm

  4. Well three cheers for Mike Huckabee!

    Monte says: Indeed! Thanks for coming by, Steve. I’ve been thinking of you lately – some friends of mine here in Iowa have begun to participate in an Orthodox church in Iowa City, and have found much that is meaningful there.

    Steve

    March 29, 2008 at 9:51 am

  5. Excellent quote, Monte! A definite tip of the cap is due to Mike Huckabee.

    Monte Says: Agreed! The tenderness of his comment has been on my mind all day today. What an example he set – and one that defies the stereotypes that many have toward people of his particular faith background.

    lemuelcrouse

    March 28, 2008 at 1:51 pm


Leave a Reply

