The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Yes, we can; Yes, we can

with 9 comments

Obama’s victory speech tonight in South Carolina may prove to be a transformational event in American history. My son Lucas and I watched it in our basement tonight shortly after the speech was given; we’ll never forget the moment.

I don’t think I’m an easy sell. I plan to be the perpetual opposition, challenging whoever holds power to give their best to the most fragile among us. And I’ve already got my first critical email to Sen. Obama planned.

But I am moved tonight; I’ve never heard it like this before.

Dare we hope?


Tags: , , , , , Monte Asbury

Written by Monte

January 26, 2008 at 11:48 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hardly! Just suggesting that since the presidency is an especially public platform, the ability to inspire is one important quality (among many) that is a significant asset for those who would serve us there.

    Monte

    February 1, 2008 at 10:10 pm

  2. Hitler was a great orator as well. Guess you’d want him leading this country as well. You emergents are quite interesting. Reminds of the old joke… Having an intelligent conversation with an unarmed person. LOL.

    Preston

    February 1, 2008 at 9:44 pm

  3. woooooooooooo

    Beep

    January 30, 2008 at 8:52 pm

  4. While talking about the presidential campaign this evening my brother in law said that (I think it was) Gerald Ford said that anyone who wants to be president shouldn’t be president.

    I got a kick out of that because I’ve thought that to myself and probably said it too many times. And therein lies the problem we live with.

    giannakali

    January 27, 2008 at 11:54 pm

  5. Gianna, you are honest, as always.
    We shall see what comes of all this, and whether our cynicism finds reason to grow or diminish. Instincts are important, and the wounds of former and frequent political betrayals run deep. They are the sad side of looking honestly at the whitewashed horrors of American history.

    Monte

    January 27, 2008 at 7:10 pm

  6. I think you should too. Keep processing ;-)

    nancy

    January 27, 2008 at 2:11 pm

  7. oh…and I’ll try to watch the whole speech later. I think I should.

    giannakali

    January 27, 2008 at 2:54 am

  8. I’m so cynical that I feel shame about it. I listened to part of the speech earlier on youtube, before I saw it here. I couldn’t watch the whole thing because while I agree he is a talented orator my cynicism sees it as performance. I want to like him. I want to support him 100%. I do think he is the best person for our country at this point—to help it regain credibility in the world, but I want more. I want someone I completely trust. Someone who is transparently trustworthy and I don’t see that in Obama as much as I want to. I still see a politician.

    I like that you say you will be the perpetual opposition. Maybe that is all I’m doing too. We need so much massive change that a really outstanding candidate doesn’t have a chance in hell. Obama may very well be the best thing our country has seen in decades. I guess I can get behind that, huh? I should get behind that.

    giannakali

    January 27, 2008 at 2:53 am

  9. What an amazing orator! There is just no comparison between the other candidates and him. He stirs emotions, yes – emotions that make me hope again and make me believe that we can have a country that is built on respect, equality, justice – Listening to him I am reminded that he is talking about meta-change. It isn’t about his policies as much as it is about his demand that the process change. And don’t we all, deep down, want a new process? Oh, we just have to get this man in the White House!

    later, Monte

    nancy

    January 27, 2008 at 2:24 am


Leave a Reply

