The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Be astonished: A personal story of healthcare in western Europe

with 7 comments

I am amazed.

I posted, at Clipmarks, a clip called France best, US worst in preventable deaths. [I also blogged it, here.] A fellow Clipper, thisnamecantbetaken, responded with her own story. The emphases are mine. Here goes:

thisnamecantbetakenI live in a western European country. We pay higher taxes, yes indeed we do! … BUT we ALL have healthcare. From cradle to grave, that is taken care of. You need, help? You’ll get it. From the homeless to the rich. Here, we are EQUAL in that regard. It CAN be done, to provide universal healthcare to your citizens, without that meaning you all of a sudden are “communists” and without necessarily affecting your quality of life, to the negative.

We ALL get free education. If you mind your schooling, even a pauper, can become a doctor. The deciding factor is not money. In fact, they pay US to go to school. (Higher education is encouraged) We live longer. Our infant mortality rate is lower. We are all-round healthier. I think we rate higher (or first?) on the happiness scale too. I do NOT understand the fear Americans seem to have of this way of doing things? Is it the high taxes? But we still have all we need! In fact, I think we have a better shot at the “American Dream”, than Americans do!

I am NOT one of the “elite”. I am single, I have a very large apartment, I travel a lot, 5 computers, 4 TVs, 5 cats, money in the bank, blah, blah, blah. I pay high taxes yes, but I have everything Americans do, and more!

Get yourselves together with all that healthcare shit. It makes America look bad, so many of your citizens are homeless, living in poverty and dying from lack of healthcare. It’s just not…civilized.

Imagine! Thanks, tncbt!

Worldwide friends – anyone else have a story that might help us dream big?

Americans, might you want to spread this around?


Tags: , , , , Monte Asbury Powered by ScribeFire.

Written by Monte

January 11, 2008 at 10:55 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, nice blog. I am inviting you to join our monthly blogging tournament.

    BlogMage.com

    March 12, 2010 at 2:20 am

  2. I approve of that picture!

    :-)

    ralfast

    January 19, 2008 at 8:21 pm

  3. […] Be astonished: A personal story of healthcare in western Europe « Monte Asbury’s Blog (tags: blog medical europe) […]

  4. Impossible. You can’t me. I am me. You must be mistaken, because I am MsTaken. *LOL*

    TNCBT

    January 12, 2008 at 9:09 pm

  5. Hee.

    I have a picture of myself that looks almost exactly like that. Creepy, yes?

    Monte says: Check out her profile – it’s funny: thisnamecantbetaken. And yes, by the way, you did have me doing some double-checking!

    DGs World By Big D

    January 12, 2008 at 3:29 pm

  6. Nah, it isn’t you . . . can’t be . . . um . . . right?
    Nah, it’s tncbt. Can’t be you.

    Monte

    January 12, 2008 at 1:46 pm

  7. Monte…How did you get my picture on here?

    DGs World By Big D

    January 12, 2008 at 9:41 am


Leave a Reply

