The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Zogby: Obama would beat all Repubs; All defeat Clinton

with 2 comments

clipped from www.zogby.com
Zogby Poll: Obama, Edwards Strong but Clinton Slips Against GOPers General election match-ups show the New York Senator would lose against every top Republican
UTICA, New York – A new Zogby Interactive survey shows Democrat Hillary Clinton of New York would lose to every one of the top five Republican presidential contenders, representing a reversal of fortune for the national Democratic front–runner who had led against all prospective GOP opponents earlier this year.
Meanwhile, fellow Democrats Barack Obama of Illinois and John Edwards of North Carolina would defeat or tie every one of the Republicans, this latest survey shows.

 

 

11/26/2007

 

7/14/2007

 

5/17/2007

Clinton

 

40%

 

46%

 

43%

Giuliani

 

43%

 

41%

 

48%

 

 

11/26/2007

 

7/14/2007

 

5/17/2007

Clinton

 

40%

 

48%

 

48%

Romney

 

43%

 

38%

 

40%

 

 

11/26/2007

 

7/14/2007

 

5/17/2007

Clinton

 

39%

 

N/A

 

N/A

Huckabee

 

44%

 

N/A

 

N/A

 

 

11/26/2007

 

7/14/2007

 

5/17/2007

Obama

 

46%

 

46%

 

48%

Giuliani

 

41%

 

42%

 

42%

 

 

11/26/2007

 

7/14/2007

 

5/17/2007

Obama

 

46%

 

49%

 

52%

Romney

 

40%

 

35%

 

35%

  blog it

Many of us recovering religious-right-oholics thought this would happen. But I have no idea what happens next.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , Monte Asbury

Written by Monte

November 27, 2007 at 4:51 pm

Posted in Politics

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Many thanks for the response. That is touching, actually! When I think about Jesus, I’m always amazed at the type of people that he surrounded himself with – lepers, tax collectors (some of MY least favorite people!), the hard working in his society like craftsmen and fishermen, women who were outcasts, and sometimes the untouchables, the possessed, etc… Kind of crazy, right? I rarely see that inclusion copied these days.
    I grew up Nazarene, went to a Nazarene college, and have never felt as bad about myself as I did while in that environment. I walked away from church completely for many, many years, married a wonderful loving Catholic man, and we now go to a Lutheran church. Well. He goes, with the kids, and I tag along occasionally. I have so many questions when it comes to Christianity. I can’t seem to get satisfactory answers to those questions, but at least I am searching and asking, and not just sitting there in a pew, looking at the clothes that so and so wore to church, gossipping and judging others. Unfortunately, that seems to be the norm in many a church. Nazarenes don’t quite have that market cornered, but they have a fair share of it. Anyway, thanks for the insights.

    Monte Says: I like your questions, and think they’re critically important, and have them, myself. Yes, the fundamentalist influence on the Nazarenes has had a tragic, soul-deadening effect. I started out in an ultra-conservative splinter group that found Nazarenes a bit too “liberal” – gradually, Jesus began to replace that with himself, and all those shadows slowly began to retreat, and leave me with a desire to know what faith really was, since it had become obvious that it wasn’t that. I found considerable encouragement, by the way, in Brian McLaren’s little book A New Kind of Christian, which describes a pastor who’s realized that his congregation’s questions are better than his seminary answers, is thinking of quitting, and begins to learn instead from his kid’s high school biology teacher. It’s pretty bravely written. In fact, I think I’ll go read it again. Best wishes!

    DGs World By Big D

    December 11, 2007 at 6:44 pm

  2. Monte, Your blog is certainly interesting. I’m curious – why are you a “recovering religious-right-oholic”? I’m conservative on most issues, and non-apologetic in my stances. My political viewpoints have nothing to do with religion, but that’s just me. Did something huge happen to you, to prod you into drawing a big line between yourself and right-wingers? Again, just curious. You seem to have a dandy sense of humor. Take care, Big D

    Monte Says: Many thanks, Big D. Something huge, yes, I suppose, but only huge as a result of a long process. Most recently, for instance, I spent much of this year preaching through the gospel of Luke, and was amazed by how different Jesus was than I expected. My church counted up 26 instances in the middle 15 chapters in which he’s going out of his way to care for someone poor or excluded or telling a story in which someone poor or excluded is the hero.

    I started this project to try to distance myself from my own biases, figuring if I plodded through the gospels I’d ’bout have to preach on the things Jesus preached on. He was much more focused on the poor and outcast than I realized, and much less focused on abstract spiritual issues. So, I figured, if my priorities are like Jesus’ priorities, that’s where I’ll be, too. So I hope to look at politics as part of life, and ask of my positions, “How will this affect the poorest and powerless among us and around the world?”

    Thanks for asking! You’re welcome here anytime!

    DGs World By Big D

    November 28, 2007 at 4:29 pm


Leave a Reply

