The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

To the Person Sitting in Darkness

with 2 comments

Mark Twain – To the Person Sitting in Darkness
Servant at Ressentiment tipped me off to this haunting modern rendering of words of Mark Twain from the time of the Spanish-American war by Italian poets/filmmakers at Nuovoviautori.
Servant has here a link to the text as originally written in the New York Times of 1901 (and the NYT’s response), with more explanatory details.
Whew!


Related posts: Power corrupts: Here’s its antidote
A brief history of Iran-US relations, part 1: Constitution to Khatami
Tags:
, , , , , , , , Monte Asbury

Written by Monte

May 26, 2007 at 12:09 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Servant, you’re awfully nice to me! I am grateful that you find it hopeful. Have you read those amazing words of Howard Zinn at To live now as we think humans should live in defiance of all that is bad around us? Whoo-ee, he knows how to pack hope into language. And the amazing thing is, he tells the dark side of history better than most, yet hangs onto a tremendous optimism.

    Monte

    May 29, 2007 at 12:51 pm

  2. Thanks Monte. I thought I was enjoying ancient human history from Mark Twain’s time until I read your sermon on power corrupts.

    I want to get my blog roll restored from backup and add your blog, but I’ve been having some trouble with my computer. The more I read here, the better I feel about our future. Your hopeful log entries lift my spirits.

    Thank you for your leadership, Monte.

    Servant

    May 26, 2007 at 10:36 pm


Leave a Reply

