The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

International News Banned in the USA

with 7 comments

Would anyone notice? Here’s a problem and a plan.

Rekha BasuDes Moines Register columnist Rekha Basu commented (after mentioning several stories that were shaking the world while US news outlets soaked us in Anna Nicole Smith post-mortem minutiae):

You have to be highly motivated to read the world news you do find on TV or in most daily papers; it’s not typically packaged engagingly or covered in depth, so it feels like taking your medicine – not something you’d do for fun. Or you get stories of the weird, that tend to exaggerate the differences between us and them, like the Indian guy who’s been growing his fingernails for 20 years.

Then Karen left a comment here that included these words:

Interestingly, though, is that as I’m now more concerned about “WHAT IS GOING ON IN THE WORLD?” – I can’t even FIND world news on our so called news channels. . .

And finally, I ran into Dennis Fox, one of the local UMC pastors, at lunch today. He came by with this comment:

… in fact, many Muslims DO SPEAK UP and CONDEMN TERRORISM … but our so-called major news venues do not cover it at all. For merely one example, with links to others, take a look at http://www.cair-net.org/html/911statements.html. Also, I am getting more and more of my real news by also listening to/watching shows like “Democracy Now,” and “Mosaic” on FSTV (Free Speech TV) and LINK-TV. These are also available via websites ( http://www.democracynow.org/ and http://www.linktv.org/mosaic, respectively).

So, OK, we can travel the world electronically, going to any news source on earth. Why not find the red hot sources?

Clue me in: How do you do it? Where do you find international/multicultural news? Where can a person go to get real news, intriguingly written, and seen through international eyes?

Ooh-hoo, I’m looking forward to what we learn here.


Related stories: Networks Criticized for Lack of Anna Nicole Coverage
Video spoof of media obsession on ANS story
Tags:
, , , , , , , , Monte Asbury

Written by Monte

May 17, 2007 at 3:45 pm

Posted in News

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Check out PeoplesGeography’s most recent Press Picks at Press Picks. And her blog picks, too (on which I am honored to be listed): Blog Picks. Thanks, Ann!

    Monte

    May 23, 2007 at 2:14 pm

  2. Thanks for the tips, friends – I’m going to add these to my blogroll.

    Monte

    May 23, 2007 at 1:25 pm

  3. It is true that we don’t get an “informative” information. Recently I was wondering what was going on in Afghanistan for instance. What has happen in the recent years? What are the plans for the future?

    Beside the blog-surfer, these days I read the Asia Times Online. Few other links on my blogroll under News.

    homeyra

    May 22, 2007 at 5:55 pm

  4. Let me add one site to the mix….for years, I’ve relied on the Christian Science Monitor for world news. Here is the link to their “world” page. http://www.csmonitor.com/world

    Although it is still an American news source, I have to say it is one of the most objective, comprehensive and fair news sources out there. I used to subscribe to it when I was an undergraduate in college, and off and on since. But with the cyberversion, it is easy to find good world news now. (Sounds like a commercial doesn’t it? Sorry)

    Dan Henderson

    May 20, 2007 at 8:22 am

  5. Thanks friends, good tips – I’m going to try some of your ways. But Norsk, well, that would be a little tough. Love to go there, tho’, what I’ve seen in photos is breathtaking. Nancy, have you been to Vesterheim in Decorah? Worth the trip!

    Monte

    May 19, 2007 at 12:41 am

  6. I had an interesting experience the other day. I spent a year in Norway and have retained enough of the language that I can still sort of read it. So I was shocked to see the difference between Oslo’s (and Norway’s) largest paper Aftenposten in English & in Norwegian. The English version had fewer stories about political issues. In fact, the headlining stories weren’t the same. I’d say only about 10% of what I saw on the English page was the same as what I saw on the Norwegian page.

    That said – I do like to the Aftenposten because they have a lot of world political/social/economic news without the American prejudice. You can check it out, but unless you can read Norsk, you won’t get the better stuff.

    I don’t know how that compares to other world papers. When I lived in Norway a friend often gave me her old issues of Time’s international publication. It was so much better than the version they put out in the USA. I’ve wondered many times if one could subscribe to their international version while living in the US.

    nancy

    May 18, 2007 at 10:15 pm

  7. Good question!

    I find myself often too short of time to be able to learn about EVERYTHING that happens in the world. So I tend to focus on what is of my immediate interest/concern.

    I usually start by looking at google news, and then yaho news. I usually look fr discrepancies in order of importance. Then I follow the links and if the story seems fishy, I would dig more and more, in sources like Znet, common-dreams, global voices for peace, counterpunch, and etc. But I also look at the guardian, NYT, washington post, reuter … for headlines. The digging I do agter, thanks to google magic!

    naj

    May 18, 2007 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

