The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

“Why don’t more Muslims speak out?” Here’s a better question.

with 9 comments

Brian McLarenBrian McLaren, at God’s Politics, quoted CNN contributor Roland Martin:

I’m looking for the day when Jerry Falwell, Pat Robertson, Joyce Meyer, James Dobson, Tony Perkins, James Kennedy, Rod Parsley, ‘Patriot Pastors’ and Rick Warren will sit at the same table as Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton, Cynthia Hale, Eddie L. Long, James Meek, Fred Price, Emmanuel Cleaver and Floyd Flake to establish a call to arms on racism, AIDS, police brutality, a national health care policy, our sorry education system.

I would have included our historically exploitative foreign policy and unbridled militarism. But you get the point.

McLaren goes on:

We’ve probably heard many people here in the U.S. ask, “Why aren’t there more moderate Muslims speaking out against the violent extremists and calling for reform in Islam?” As I reflected on Roland Martin’s editorial on Good Friday, 2007, I couldn’t help but think, “Maybe around the world, ‘behind our back,’ so to speak, people are asking a similar question about Christians in the U.S.”

Oooh, yeah. Come and get me! That’s a question Jesus might ask.

Planks and specks, you know?


Tags: , , , , , , , , Monte Asbury

Written by Monte

April 14, 2007 at 5:23 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Karen left a comment here that included these words: Interestingly, though, is that as I’m now more concerned about […]

  2. Indeed, great observation! Thanks, Dennis. I may quote you – many lament the absence of international coverage in the US – not to mention the absence of Muslim-American comments. So I may write a post asking others for their favorite international/multicultural news sources.

    Monte

    May 17, 2007 at 2:24 pm

  3. What’s really sad about the opening question is that, in fact, many Muslims DO SPEAK UP and CONDEMN TERRORISM … but our so-called major news venues do not cover it at all. For merely one example, with links to others, take a look at http://www.cair-net.org/html/911statements.html. Also, I am getting more and more of my real news by also listening to/watching shows like “Democracy Now,” and “Mosaic” on FSTV (Free Speech TV) and LINK-TV. These are also available via websites ( http://www.democracynow.org/ and http://www.linktv.org/mosaic, respectively).

    Dennis

    May 17, 2007 at 1:53 pm

  4. Hi Karen, great to meet you! You’re right, it is hard to get a non-US perspective of the world. History is a good place to start – it changes everything, I think (it did for me, anyway). I wish everyone were familiar with Howard Zinn’s A People’s History of the United States. It is eye-opening.
    Have you seen my posts called A Brief History of Iran-US Relations? I got some of that from hearing a guest speaker nearby, and quite a bit from Wikipedia.
    When I began to follow Christ, some people helped me a great deal. Since they were politically very conservative, and since they’d obviously known a lot I needed to know about spirituality, I figured they were right about politics, too. But the more I watch Jesus (now 25 years later!), the less comfortable I am with that view.
    Much to learn! Thanks for coming by!

    Monte

    May 16, 2007 at 11:09 pm

  5. Hey Monte! Homeyra introduced me to your blog being that I’m a Christian and very interested in Iran!

    While I struggle with some of McLaren’s theology – gosh his criticisms are worthy of serious consideration.

    I don’t pretend to be an expert on “our unbridled militarism”…my own head (to my shame) has been in the sand until this year. I don’t know enough about world happenings to say much of anything…as far as the war – I don’t think it is simple enough for me to say “it is wrong” or “we should have done it”…I have no idea.

    Interestingly, though, is that as I’m now more concerned about “WHAT IS GOING ON IN THE WORLD?” – I can’t even FIND world news on our so called news channels…America doesn’t want to know and doesn’t care. Christians have just let this happen to our country – so we’re ignorant of the suffering that is going on elsewhere. I think McLaren’s point is amazing…”why aren’t the Christians speaking out against…” is because we aren’t aware. We don’t know, and we like it that way. I confess – I’ve been there! God has been gracious though…I’m excited now because I do believe He desires to show His glory and goodness in the midst of world happenings.

    Karen

    May 12, 2007 at 11:00 am

  6. How shocking it is! The “judging and condemning” view, in the Easter story, is the view that condemns Jesus for not joining-in its condemnations. I’ve had folks leave my church because, in part, I wouldn’t condemn what these popular voices condemn. But I couldn’t find Jesus in the condemnation.
    Excellent comment, many thanks!

    Monte

    April 21, 2007 at 3:03 pm

  7. There’s a serious conspiracy of self-righteous silence that goes on, isn’t there? Isn’t it time we first of all became clear, and then unequivocally made it clear, that the right wing Christian agenda isn’t, in fact, Christian? By that, I mean it may be the agenda of Christians, but it is fundamentally (pun intended!) opposed to that of Jesus. It is simply not possible to square it with the preaching and practice of Jesus in the gospels. That isn’t to say that we can’t play the game of finding verses to support those sorts of positions: it’s to say that we have to look at the totality of Jesus’ project. Easter is the reminder of just how offensive it was to the NT equivalents of Robertson, Falwell, Dobson et al. The fundamental (again!) point ought to be (and it’s so obvious that we miss it time and again!) that the God revealed by Jesus is disturbingly more interested in saving the world and its inhabitants than in judging and condemning it. It’s time we began to share that view – and to say loudly that we do not regard the right wing agenda as authentically Christian. Now, that will sound like Good News to millions of decent people whose rejection of Christian faith is based on what they see of the Church!

    Lawrence

    April 21, 2007 at 12:23 pm

  8. Exactly my point! Christians have asked Muslims a question that they may not be asking of themselves.
    Thanks for coming by!

    Monte

    April 15, 2007 at 6:16 am

  9. i like the question that you ask. but the problem is this:

    1. They are afraid to speak out because of the ugly picture that have been painted on them by the media.
    2. The ones that does speak out only get local support not a nationwide support.

    I would suggest that before asking a question to someone/a group ask yourself the same question.

    fqaium

    April 14, 2007 at 6:52 pm


Leave a Reply

