The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

The baptism of Jesus (Bible readings for January 7, 2007)

with 14 comments

Baptism of Jesus by Jesus MAFAAh, can’t wait to dig into this! Obvious questions present themselves, like –

As is so often the case, what on earth is Jesus doing? Why is Jesus baptized by John?

Why does he wait till “after all the people were baptized?”

What’s he telling us about himself here?

Your thoughts?  [See the sermon this became, here]

Luke 3:15-17,21-22

The interest of the people by now was building. They were all beginning to wonder, “Could this John be the Messiah?”

But John intervened: “I’m baptizing you here in the river. The main character in this drama, to whom I’m a mere stagehand, will ignite the kingdom life, a fire, the Holy Spirit within you, changing you from the inside out. He’s going to clean house—make a clean sweep of your lives. He’ll place everything true in its proper place before God; everything false he’ll put out with the trash to be burned.”
. . . After all the people were baptized, Jesus was baptized. As he was praying, the sky opened up and the Holy Spirit, like a dove descending, came down on him. And along with the Spirit, a voice: “You are my Son, chosen and marked by my love, pride of my life.”

Acts 8:14-17

When the apostles in Jerusalem received the report that Samaria had accepted God’s Message, they sent Peter and John down to pray for them to receive the Holy Spirit. Up to this point they had only been baptized in the name of the Master Jesus; the Holy Spirit hadn’t yet fallen on them. Then the apostles laid their hands on them and they did receive the Holy Spirit.

The Message (MSG) Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Baptism of the Lord
(First Sunday after the Epiphany)
January 7, 2007
Luke 3:15-17,21-22; Acts 8:14-17; Isaiah 43:1-7;Psalm 29

Technorati Tags: , ,

Written by Monte

January 1, 2007 at 1:00 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good blog you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to
    find excellent writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate people like you!

    Take care!!

    Eli

    January 8, 2015 at 3:42 pm

  2. I am really grateful to the owner of this website whoo has
    shared this impressive piece of writing at at this place.

    Chastity

    October 18, 2014 at 7:50 pm

  3. Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this post i thought i
    could also create comment due to this good post.

    proform bikes

    September 27, 2014 at 7:35 am

  4. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity on your post is simply excellent and that i could think you are an expert on this subject.
    Fine together with your permission let me to grab your feed
    to stay up to date with imminent post. Thanks one million and please
    continue the enjoyable work.

    power garcinia contact trial

    September 20, 2014 at 7:09 pm

  5. I just like the helpful info you supply to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and take a look at once more here frequently.
    I’m rather certain I will be informed plenty of
    new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the
    next!

    biological parents

    September 12, 2014 at 7:00 am

  6. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your
    site, how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account
    helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast
    offered bright clear concept

    coltonr6Myers.deviantart.Com

    September 1, 2014 at 11:42 pm

  7. What’s up, I want to subscribe for this weblog to get most recent updates, so
    where can i do it please help.

  8. I love looking through an article that will make men and women think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  9. I’ve learn several excellent stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how so much effort you place to create this sort
    of great informative website.

  10. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert
    that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

    miracle cures

    August 4, 2014 at 12:58 am

  11. Yes! Finally someone writes about premium garcinia cambogia pure best.

  12. That makes Garcinia cambogia especially useful for psychological eaters.
    garcinia Cambogia to Minimize Cholesterol Amounts in the Body.

    It could be red or yellow and grows in southwest Asia.

    http://www.shanecomedy.com/

    December 21, 2013 at 4:03 am

  13. That’s the best kind!

    Monte

    January 5, 2007 at 5:01 pm

  14. I’m reading a “historical fiction” book by Margaret George about Mary Magdalene, and I just got to the part where the disciples are baptizing others.

    You raised some very good points – in my old age, I am definitely becoming more open to God and Jesus Christ’s lessons. You wouldn’t always know it by reading my blog, but hey – I have occasional enlightenment in there.

    Sudiegirl

    January 5, 2007 at 10:32 am


Leave a Reply

