The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Come away, my love [Bible reading for Sep 3]

with 2 comments

My little grandson and I went shopping yesterday. He’s eight months old now, and full of wonder. We ran errands at the farm supply and the hardware store.

I was taken by surprise:  it was so much more than shopping. He perched on the cart, I leaned on the handle-bar, and we wandered from attraction to attraction: Shake the long dowel rods that poke up beside us; ponder the rough end of the hardware cloth; pat the Surform blade (no, sweet man, not in your mouth).

Sometimes, I would lean my head down beside his as we whispered nonsense insights to each other. His baby-soft hair (slightly stiff in the spot where I hadn’t completely scrubbed off banana) pressed against my cheek. And he would reach his little arm around my head and gently pat my face. Mmm, mmm, mmm.

This morning, I read from Garry Wills’ What Jesus Meant. Words like these:

Yet God’s reign, though present when Jesus announced it, had not completed its triumph. The reign is a dynamic process, not a settled place or structure. It is not two things, one present and one to come. It is one process unfolding. It is Jesus himself, at first recognized only by a few . . . (85-86)

I knew, inside myself, what he wrote. It was as if Truth, ever ephemeral, stood close by, stooping to show affection to me.

These two incidents had something of the same feel. There was a sense of love’s presence, and a sense that love’s presence was the essence of reality, of all worthwhile things, and a sense of invitation to a deeper enjoyment of it.

Which reminded me of the Song of Solomon reading for this Sunday: “Arise, my love, my fair one, and come away . . . ”

Ah, God, ephemeral pursuer! Teach me to behold you all through the day! Give me quietness to hear your voice, to sense your beckoning nearness, to long for you and home, as my small mind becomes so quickly deflected away into smaller things.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Written by Monte

August 30, 2006 at 11:22 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah, thanks, how refreshing your comment was to me!

    Monte

    October 2, 2006 at 12:14 pm

  2. That description of beauty in diapers brought tears to my eyes.

    I pray too that I can delight in God and my girls all through the day, and not fall victim to the tyranny of the immediately mundane. I pray to see God in the everyday and not get worn down by the details of it.

    Jessica

    October 1, 2006 at 8:12 pm


Leave a Reply

