The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Getting nothing done

with 3 comments

Get "nothing" done today? And you're … worthless? Hopeless? Useless?

You'll like what Adela McKay's blog is serving up. Here's an appetizer:

KALONA, May 5 (UPI) — Crud. I didn't do one thing on my list yesterday. … I have nothing to show for myself! …

I'd like to write, "So what? Life isn't about getting things done. It's about loving God and the ones you're with. …"

My hands may type it, but my heart doesn't believe it. [editorial comment from Monte: "HAHAHAHA … Oh wait – me, too."]

This inability to be content without checking to see how I'm doing is partly due to my formative years as a follower of Jesus. …

Hmm, think of that: Discipleship that breeds an inability to be content.
I get what she's talking about, don't you? In my case, it's also due to the as-if-there-were-no-God-but-accomplishment worldliness I ignorantly grow along with my faith. Spiritual Creeping Charlie.

See where she goes with this – it's good. Click here.
Unless you're too busy.

Written by Monte

June 8, 2006 at 8:54 pm

Posted in Hope, Worry

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re welcome. It was a genuinely valuable piece.
    And I had hamsters when I was little.

    Monte

    June 9, 2006 at 12:31 pm

  2. […] Getting nothing done […]

  3. Thanks, Monty! Your interest in my column is so encouraging, particularly now as I’m working at trying to spread it and some of my other writing around more.

    And I love the hamster. He looks just like our Anna’s mini-hamster, who has been a sweet pet and has been blessed with long life. He has a hunchback now, but that doesn’t seem to bother him a bit. He still grabs hold the cage bars and looks out at Anna every morning, asking to socialize. I’m sure he thinks he’s a person. His companion, Bob, died–suprise!–in childbirth. :)

    Amy/Adela

    June 9, 2006 at 5:31 am


Leave a Reply

