The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

In Our Hearts

with 3 comments

Here are the O.T. and the Psalm scriptures for Sunday:

First impressions are important. What comes to mind as you read? What do you feel? The first hearers didn't receive these as Bible studies, but as a public reading or a song. What impressions do you – perhaps like they – take away?

Puh-LEEZ don't worry about being profound – that's what happens later, a result of many of us – from the on-line as well as the on-site faith communities – offering our not-so-profound bits.

Click on "No Comments" or "1 Comment" (or whatever it says at the time) down below. You'll read others' impressions there, and (below them), there is a box for you to leave your "bit," if you dare. Remember, it's just a "bit"- be brave!

Fifth Sunday in Lent
April 2, 2006
Jeremiah 31:31-34; Psalm 51:1-12

Jeremiah 31:31-34

31"That's right. The time is coming when I will make a brand-new covenant with Israel and Judah. 32It won't be a repeat of the covenant I made with their ancestors when I took their hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt. They broke that covenant even though I did my part as their Master." GOD's Decree.33"This is the brand-new covenant that I will make with Israel when the time comes. I will put my law within them–write it on their hearts!-and be their God. And they will be my people. 34They will no longer go around setting up schools to teach each other about GOD. They'll know me firsthand, the dull and the bright, the smart and the slow. I'll wipe the slate clean for each of them. I'll forget they ever sinned!" GOD's Decree.

The Message (MSG)
Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Psalm 51:1-12
A David psalm, after he was confronted by Nathan about the affair with Bathsheba.

1Generous in love–God, give grace! Huge in mercy–wipe out my bad record.
2Scrub away my guilt,
soak out my sins in your laundry.
3I know how bad I've been;
my sins are staring me down.

4You're the One I've violated, and you've seen
it all, seen the full extent of my evil.
You have all the facts before you;
whatever you decide about me is fair.
5I've been out of step with you for a long time,
in the wrong since before I was born.
6What you're after is truth from the inside out.
Enter me, then; conceive a new, true life.

7Soak me in your laundry and I'll come out clean,
scrub me and I'll have a snow-white life.
8Tune me in to foot-tapping songs,
set these once-broken bones to dancing.
9Don't look too close for blemishes,
give me a clean bill of health.
10God, make a fresh start in me,
shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life.
11Don't throw me out with the trash,
or fail to breathe holiness in me.
12Bring me back from gray exile,
put a fresh wind in my sails!

The Message (MSG)
Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

Written by Monte

March 28, 2006 at 3:31 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I found your blog through the Psalm 51 Technorati tag. Mess around, feel free to comment? Don’t mind if I do! For reasons I don’t fully understand, a request to God based on an appeal to His character gets His attention. I have this picture in my mind’s eye of a vast number of prayers for various things (winning lottery tickets, etc.) going into God’s spam folder.

    I recently read something that blessed me, the idea of praying Psalm 51 for one’s enemies as well as one’s self. I just wrote about it here.

    Douglas

    June 14, 2006 at 10:52 pm

  2. May God help me to remember it! What more could I want?
    Yes, Amy – great to meet you! Isn’t God good?

    Monte

    March 29, 2006 at 9:36 pm

  3. Can’t ask for better than this: a new agreement that we can be up-close and personal with God, sins scrubbed away, a toe-tapping tune to sing. Why do we even THINK about the cares of this world when all this is ours?

    Good to meet you finally, Monte!

    Amy

    March 29, 2006 at 12:18 pm


Leave a Reply

