The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Stillness

with 3 comments

06.03.10 Friday
Still so bloody hard,
to “wait on the Lord.”

When I sit,
I am rushed by to-do’s,
or allured by singers on the rocks.
I avoid sitting.
So,

Anxiety – ignored, but rarely quieted – gnaws away joy.
Surprises bring suspicion: What this gonna cost me?
Beauty becomes distraction: Where was I?
People morph into storm clouds, threatening.
But,

I can see – I really can
(in a wholly different direction).
Far away, that way,
surprises are delights,
beauty is oxygen,
people are wonders.

I am going there.

But it is distant, and my steps – so small.

God, give me courage to defend still places fiercely.
Grant me a suspicion
of the alluring stupor of activity.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Written by Monte

March 10, 2006 at 6:00 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “And it’s that goodness that, in turn, feeds the soul.” Wow. How true!

    Monte

    March 14, 2006 at 2:06 pm

  2. What a wonderful poem, Monte! It really speaks to me. The more I get to really know God (and, therefore, myself), the more I realize how much my soul needs this stillness, too. If I spend too much time being frenetic, I am blinded to all the goodness around me. And it’s that goodness that, in turn, feeds the soul. What a shame it would be to miss any of that!

    June

    March 14, 2006 at 9:18 am

  3. OK, I’ll add a comment to my own post: Every time I see this title, I think about how I need to go off and sit still. Maybe I’m getting some help from it!

    Monte

    March 13, 2006 at 4:08 pm


Leave a Reply

