The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Psalm 25 (for March 5, 2006)

with 2 comments

Psalm 25

A David psalm

1My head is high, GOD, held high; 2I’m looking to you, GOD;

No hangdog skulking for me.

3I’ve thrown in my lot with you;

You won’t embarrass me, will you?

Or let my enemies get the best of me?

Don’t embarrass any of us

Who went out on a limb for you.

It’s the traitors who should be humiliated.

4Show me how you work, GOD;

School me in your ways.

5Take me by the hand;

Lead me down the path of truth.

You are my Savior, aren’t you?

6Mark the milestones of your mercy and love, GOD;

Rebuild the ancient landmarks!

7Forget that I sowed wild oats;

Mark me with your sign of love.

Plan only the best for me, GOD!

8GOD is fair and just;

He corrects the misdirected,

Sends them in the right direction.

9He gives the rejects his hand,

And leads them step-by-step.

10From now on every road you travel

Will take you to GOD.

Follow the Covenant signs;

Read the charted directions.

The Message (MSG)

Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Written by Monte

February 27, 2006 at 9:13 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Friend of mine recently described the psalmist – and us – as “bipolar.” It was a Psalm where things were so good one minute and so unspeakably horrible the next. Or at least so they seemed!  And his description reminded me of your comment here and on Genesis.
    I love your words: “about God being always ready to change things, to turn our heads back toward him …”  I think you see God.  It is late, I am tired … but this may be the most important thing that’s happened to me all day.
    Where would I be but for a God who loves like that? It makes me feel like it’s worth getting up tomorrow and going at it again.

    Monte

    March 2, 2006 at 10:47 pm

  2. I love this psalm. It’s so much about God being always ready to change things, to turn our heads back toward him, to rebaptize us in spirit and truth. Reminds me of the gospel passage for this week. NOW is kingdom time!

    Amy

    February 28, 2006 at 1:30 pm


Leave a comment