The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Worship plans (for 02.26)

leave a comment »

Here’s what I’m thinking, along with some comments. Your thoughts welcome!

Transfiguration Sunday (First Sunday before Lent) February 26 , 2006

II Kings 2:1-12; Psalm 50:1-6; II Corinthians 4:3-6; Mark 9:2-9

Summary:

Every Move I Make [The phrase “Oh, my God – this love! How can it be?” has been on my mind so strongly this week!]

I Want to Know You [A little like the Scriptures – like Elisha, for instance, who just wouldn’t back off of watching Elijah, which seems, to me, a metaphor of following Jesus.]

You Are My Hiding Place [“Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You …” My friend Amy reminded me this week (without meaning to) of what a big role fear plays in my life still, and what a betrayer it is! Just when I think fear is looking reasonable, I realize it threatens to make me ugly and dangerous.]

Prayer – Sharon

Welcome –

A Visit with Elisha the Prophet – Dan Henderson [Dan’s doing an Elisha monologue, telling the story of Elijah’s homegoing from Elisha’s point of view – thanks, Dan!]

Message: Quietly Watching

In Christ Alone [He is our picture of what God is like!]

Giving

Every Move I Make [this will be a different song than it was at the beginning, I’ll bet. Na, Na, nanana Na Na!]

Blessing – Sharon

Written by Monte

February 23, 2006 at 5:00 pm

Posted in Worship planning

Leave a Reply

