The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Upcoming: OT for 2.26.06

with 5 comments

2 Kings 2:1-12

View commentary related to this passage

1Just before GOD took Elijah to heaven in a whirlwind, Elijah and Elisha were on a walk out of Gilgal. 2Elijah said to Elisha, “Stay here. GOD has sent me on an errand to Bethel.” Elisha said, “Not on your life! I’m not letting you out of my sight!” So they both went to Bethel.

3The guild of prophets at Bethel met Elisha and said, “Did you know that GOD is going to take your master away from you today?”

“Yes,” he said, “I know it. But keep it quiet.”

4Then Elijah said to Elisha, “Stay here. GOD has sent me on an errand to Jericho.”

Elisha said, “Not on your life! I’m not letting you out of my sight!” So they both went to Jericho.

5The guild of prophets at Jericho came to Elisha and said, “Did you know that GOD is going to take your master away from you today?”

“Yes,” he said, “I know it. But keep it quiet.”

6Then Elijah said to Elisha, “Stay here. GOD has sent me on an errand to the Jordan.”

Elisha said, “Not on your life! I’m not letting you out of my sight!” And so the two of them went their way together.

7Meanwhile, fifty men from the guild of prophets gathered some distance away while the two of them stood at the Jordan.

8Elijah took his cloak, rolled it up, and hit the water with it. The river divided and the two men walked through on dry land.

9When they reached the other side, Elijah said to Elisha, “What can I do for you before I’m taken from you? Ask anything.”

Elisha said, “Your life repeated in my life. I want to be a holy man just like you.”

10″That’s a hard one!” said Elijah. “But if you’re watching when I’m taken from you, you’ll get what you’ve asked for. But only if you’re watching.”

11And so it happened. They were walking along and talking. Suddenly a chariot and horses of fire came between them and Elijah went up in a whirlwind to heaven. 12Elisha saw it all and shouted, “My father, my father! You–the chariot and cavalry of Israel!” When he could no longer see anything, he grabbed his robe and ripped it to pieces.

The Message (MSG)Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Written by Monte

February 19, 2006 at 10:30 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elijah is the proto-type of Jesus….here is Elisha, the mentee or dicisple…looking up into heaven as Elijah is taken up….remind you of another group of disiciples looking up as someone was ascending? Somehow this “looking up” changes us….keep looking up. Looking up as a metaphor for looking into the perfect face of God, and someone finding out who we really are in the reflection.

    Dan - Washington

    February 26, 2006 at 7:49 am

  2. edit: simply human, (not to discredit the appreciation for my human qualities) and Monte, I’ll keep coming back to “watch” at this sight It is exileration, thank you for providing the venue.

    sheila H

    February 24, 2006 at 11:31 am

  3. I like this one, At first glance it looked like co-dependency, like fear of being without this holy man,( evidently I am relating to Elisha). Then I see the absolute not going to miss out on this blessing, Im going to be in on it if I have to clammer and claw to get there. Walking right into what used to be fear with the insight that says alright Im coming right into the middle of what you have for me , WHEW HOO!!! And on Alijahs part, for his own sake, giving a disclaimer of whats up. As in” if you really want this lifechoice there is alot of loosing going to be shedded off ” And a lot of gaining to be had. Im in and I will “watch” as God and you do this dance, (another high beyond explaination, cant speak of , there are not words to describe unless the other has been there then the joy is unmistakable.) I cant afford to consider what the people around witnessing my behavior think, embarrassment becomes only human and barely worth noticing. Im coming back here watching because the exileration is worth it. Thank you for the avenue.

    sheila H

    February 24, 2006 at 11:25 am

  4. What and interesting interaction. Why would Elija tell Elisha to stay behind? Jesus asked Peter 3 times to feed the sheep, Peter denied Jesus 3times. Here it is Bethel, Jericho and Jordan. Does this reveal something about God?
    Could the point be holding on to the goal no matter what? This interaction seems to be distracting form the whirlwind story.
    Hum mm
    Sharon

    Sharon

    February 23, 2006 at 12:52 pm

  5. “Not on your life! I’m not letting you out of my sight.”

    The One whom God would have us not allow out of our sight is Jesus. We are to learn from him and to be about his business. He wants us to be Jesus-Repeats, and to do even greater things than he …

    Relying on past revelation won’t do it. We must run along with Jesus as Elisha did Elija. Otherwise we end up living in the dark of a false god, in the shadow of a moldy monument.

    The point for me today of these three passages: God is always on the move. And as his errand runners, we’d best keep moving according to his word to us, walking with him on the path.

    Hope this is helpful. Blah blah blah. :)

    Amy

    February 21, 2006 at 9:20 am


Leave a Reply

