The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Upcoming: Gospel for 2.26.06

with 4 comments

Mark 9:2-9

View commentary related to this passage

In a Light-Radiant Cloud

2Six days later, three of them did see it. Jesus took Peter, James, and John and led them up a high mountain. His appearance changed from the inside out, right before their eyes. 3His clothes shimmered, glistening white, whiter than any bleach could make them. 4Elijah, along with Moses, came into view, in deep conversation with Jesus.5Peter interrupted, “Rabbi, this is a great moment! Let’s build three memorials–one for you, one for Moses, one for Elijah.” 6He blurted this out without thinking, stunned as they all were by what they were seeing.

7Just then a light-radiant cloud enveloped them, and from deep in the cloud, a voice: “This is my Son, marked by my love. Listen to him.”

8The next minute the disciples were looking around, rubbing their eyes, seeing nothing but Jesus, only Jesus.

9Coming down the mountain, Jesus swore them to secrecy. “Don’t tell a soul what you saw. After the Son of Man rises from the dead, you’re free to talk.”

The Message (MSG)Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Written by Monte

February 19, 2006 at 12:00 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks, friends, for these great insights.  Sheila, great to know you’re stopping by!
    Amy and Sheila mention the loss – or “cheap” -ness of trying to preserve revelations rather than living in relationship. And then Sharon demonstrates it by realizing that God is speaking even then. Mmm.  I think you’ll see how your comments affected my thinking – see the “Watch” post.
    By the way, Amy, I have been thinking, too, on the pre-emininence of Jesus. Reminds me of that sentence from the 1 Cor. passage that goes “…the dayspring brightness of the Message that shines with Christ, who gives us the best picture of God we’ll ever get.” A friend of mine recently said, after reading some of Donald Miller’s book Blue Like Jazz : “I think I’m going back to the red letters.” What I think he meant was something like, “I think I’m going to return to Jesus as the first call on my life, and try not to get hung up on smaller things.” I may post a bit more about this.

    Monte

    February 23, 2006 at 4:10 pm

  2. HHmm, Several things come to mind, When I have seen the emence proofs that god not only exists but chooses to let me see what he is up to and how that is being played out in relationships Im exposed to. Even the attempt to describe the magnitude of the awareness, experience, intimacy, ect, just does not give credence to the connection. Almost like I am not allowed to speak of it. Then when the experience has played out fully and I just accept it for my own , feeling like I have this secret I dont intentionally keep. A relationship comes into being that is at the exact place when I can lay the experience right ontop of it an now it is understood. The rush that happens in me is incredible. I await with my arms wide open not to make a shrine (which somehow cheapens the realness) but to get to do it again.

    sheila H

    February 23, 2006 at 2:52 pm

  3. Hi Monte,
    Last week Jesus semed to be boldly saying “Here I am!’ No veiled enticement & hiding behind parables. No mistake, ‘I’m the Son of God and authorized to do either or both… & just so you can’t avoid me, or explain me, or diapprove me away… Here, I’ll just heal this paralytic.” Then allowing the PeterJamesJohn trio to glimps His heavenly relationships makes the reality of Him, again, unavoidable.
    He descends the mountain from glory to pain still being who He is.

    He is so very much what I want to be. How does he stand between the glory of heaven and hurting humanity and not loose His way in the distractions of dispair or delight? I can’t imagine what it must be like for Jesus to live between the two worlds. Well I guess that is not quite correct. I too am called to live knowing the glory and the pain….
    Humm..
    There it is again. See Jesus, find out about me, realize a place I’m serving.
    This personal interaction with scripture is not safe but it is good.
    Sharon

    Sharon

    February 21, 2006 at 10:32 pm

  4. Hey, Money, the first thing that comes to mind as I read this is something Bill and I have been discussing. As a couople, we have entered a bright new phase in our walk with the Lord after many years of hopelessness in certain areas. Our human propensity is to write what we’re learning in stone, to “build a monument” to what God is doing and to expect to hang out at that monument for the rest of our lives. But we are reminded of Ecclesiasties–there is a time for eveything. There is a time to mourn and a time to rejoice, etc. A time of feasting and a time of famine.

    And God says, “This is my Son, marked by my love. Listen to him” Isn’t that what the Christian life is meant to be: Llistening to Jesus–not trying to preserve revelations and live by them the rest of our day, but listening daily. (Incidently, it’s not about listening equally to Moses and Elijah and Jesus, but giving Jesus precident, for we are Christians, not Jews. The error of giving equal weight seems to be seeping more and more deeply and dangerously into American Christendom in the form of Christian Zionism–even here in Washington County.)

    Amy

    February 21, 2006 at 9:07 am


Leave a Reply

