The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Upcoming: N.T. for 2.19.06

with 3 comments

2 Corinthians 1:18-22

18Well, you’re wrong. I try to be as true to my word as God is to his. Our word to you wasn’t a careless yes canceled by an indifferent no. How could it be? 19When Silas and Timothy and I proclaimed the Son of God among you, did you pick up on any yes-and-no, on-again, off-again waffling? Wasn’t it a clean, strong Yes?

20Whatever God has promised gets stamped with the Yes of Jesus. In him, this is what we preach and pray, the great Amen, God’s Yes and our Yes together, gloriously evident. 21God affirms us, making us a sure thing in Christ, putting his Yes within us. 22By his Spirit he has stamped us with his eternal pledge–a sure beginning of what he is destined to complete.

The Message © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Written by Monte

February 12, 2006 at 4:04 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good post – filled my coffee break

    bill

    February 22, 2007 at 2:17 am

  2. OK, I’ll confess I felt something funny – convicting? – when I read this comment and your (Georgann) one on the gospel. But the longer I look, the more I’m convinced you’ve got and insight deeper than what I have touched.

    I tend to look analytically at them – words about God – you write personally – words from a friend or a lover. I’m thinking like a professor; you’re thinking “as a child” on her daddy’s lap. And you’re finding what I’m after – not just cognitive understanding, but loving, actually, experientially, innocently, rapturously.

    “I hear his AMEN in my spirit” – exactly. I hear it too, but I often forget to come to his words that way. Ahhh – Thanks for lifting my vision.

    Monte

    February 15, 2006 at 9:44 pm

  3. This is a verse I just “discovered” in the NIV, from verse 20: “For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ.” As I read my bible and find promises that resonate with me, I really am learning to pray them fearlessly; to claim them as my own; to “come boldly before the throne of grace.”
    These verses are just so amazing and so beautiful, how God does this in us and for us and to us. I hear His Yes in me. I hear His Yes in His Word. I see Him at work in me, teaching me to walk, as he taught the paraplegic. I hear His AMEN in my spirit – His YES within me! What a way to live!!

    Georgann

    February 12, 2006 at 7:10 pm


Leave a Reply

