The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Upcoming: Psalm for 2.12.06

with 4 comments

Psalm 30
A David psalm
1I give you all the credit, GOD- you got me out of that mess,
you didn’t let my foes gloat.

2GOD, my God, I yelled for help
and you put me together.
3GOD, you pulled me out of the grave,
gave me another chance at life
when I was down–and-out.

4All you saints! Sing your hearts out to GOD!
Thank him to his face!
5He gets angry once in a while, but across
a lifetime there is only love.
The nights of crying your eyes out
give way to days of laughter.

6When things were going great
I crowed, “I’ve got it made.
7I’m GOD’s favorite.
He made me king of the mountain.”
Then you looked the other way
and I fell to pieces.

8I called out to you, GOD;
I laid my case before you:
9″Can you sell me for a profit when I’m dead?
auction me off at a cemetery yard sale?
When I’m “dust to dust’ my songs
and stories of you won’t sell.
10So listen! and be kind!
Help me out of this!”

11You did it: you changed wild lament
into whirling dance;
You ripped off my black mourning band
and decked me with wildflowers.
12I’m about to burst with song;
I can’t keep quiet about you.
GOD, my God,
I can’t thank you enough.

The Message © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Written by Monte

February 6, 2006 at 4:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Isn’t this language vivid – and familiar! Makes me laugh! I’d make one of those little facey things here if I knew how.
    “Can you sell me at a profit when I’m dead?”
    “Auction me off at a cemetery yard sale?”
    “Then you look the other way and I fall to pieces.”
    How I love the honesty of the Psalms!
    Not only is mourning turning into dancing – like Jolean wrote – but (as Dan points out) my dancing turns back into mourning quite a bit!! That’s a courageous admission, don’t you think?

    Monte

    February 7, 2006 at 3:06 pm

  2. Hey, Jolean, wonderful to “hear your voice!”

    Monte

    February 7, 2006 at 3:01 pm

  3. This mourning into dancing reminds me of Mary who wept and anointed Jesus feet, yet so passionately trusted this Man of God that she followed Him to the Cross and even to the tomb.

    You have turned us, Jesus, not only from ashes to beauty and leper to clean, but you have taken us as the prostitute and called us your Bride, your Betrothed. You have called us Beloved and acceptable when the whole World screamed Unclean, Unclean, and forced us to agree with their lie.

    Jolean

    February 6, 2006 at 11:43 pm

  4. I’m seeing something in this psalm that reminds me of the leper that was healed in the gospel reading. Even when charged by Jesus to keep quiet, he immediately ran out and told everyone. (I can’t really blame him, can’t be too hard on this guy.) But, in the psalm, its a similar thing…the fickleness of emotions…one day looking to God and the next, falling to pieces. This psalm is bi-polar…from deep depression to whirling dancing. Which is it? Maybe this psalm is actually a full journy…of a lifetime. From despair to joy and from depression to elation, but not all at once…its a process a journey.

    Dan

    February 6, 2006 at 9:14 pm


Leave a Reply

