The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

Upcoming: New Testament for 2.12.06

with 2 comments

1 Corinthians 9:24-27
24You’ve all been to the stadium and seen the athletes race. Everyone runs; one wins. Run to win. 25All good athletes train hard. They do it for a gold medal that tarnishes and fades. You’re after one that’s gold eternally.
26I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! 27I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myself.

The Message © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Written by Monte

February 6, 2006 at 4:26 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It seems that Paul is talking to the Christians at Corinth in a language that is familiar to them; a language of the time. Using the Race (Athletics) simile to capture their interest in the proposition he is about to make. In an athletic race everyone trains as hard as they can but the result is that only one competitor can gain the prize. In the race that I am training for (trying to be properly prepared for what God would have me do) everyone who enters and finishes the race wins the same prize, eternal life through Jesus Christ. The variation that I see is that while I am training (being prepared) God puts training aides into my program. I believe that, in addition to scripture, some of these aides are from within and some from without. Some are the things that I must do and some are the things that I must learn to let other help me to do since we are all running the same race for the same reason and believing in the same result.

    Ray

    February 10, 2006 at 9:14 pm

  2. Ah, once again…maybe the “main thing” isn’t really the MAIN THING. Running the race (holy living) isn’t to win a prize…there is something way more important than winning a prize. Is there a greater purpose in training (holy living) than just doing our best or winning the race? What is the bigger picture here? Just like with the healing of the leper, there is something going on behind the scenes that is way more important.

    Dan

    February 6, 2006 at 9:02 pm


Leave a Reply

