The Least, First

Monte Asbury's blog

What we’re up to here …

with 9 comments

Monte

The smartest things my faith community ever pulled off were the ones we did together. When we took the time to hear from each other, wisdom emerged that was greater than any of us.

Why not hear from each other more often? Why not talk over the Scriptures before we finalize our worship plans? Imagine – what if many of us were merging our thoughts, listening for God’s voice? And what if our worship gatherings became times of “gathered” insight none of us could have had alone? Oh, yeah, I want to be there.

Each Monday, I’ll post the Scriptures for the gathering that is two weeks out – that is, a week from the following Sunday. I’ll include a few of my own first thoughts. But mostly, the point is to hear yours.

I’m looking for things like this:
– what words seem most important?
– what holds the four readings together? What’s the big picture?
– what music or visual image comes to mind as you read?
– do you have a personal story that relates?

I almost never feel like I get it the first time through. Don’t be afraid to take a shot and change your mind later. Let yourself soak in these beautiful words. Come back often to read others’ comments and add responses of your own. Comments – including the spot where you can add your own – are at the bottom of the postings. In blogspeak, “postings” are what I write; “comments” are what you write (so start your own blog if you like! It’s free on WordPress!) A look at “Recent posts” will tell what discussions are underway.
Finally, on the day after the sermon is given, I’ll post it. If you want to question or comment on something, please do add that in!

As always in the Kingdom, please tell the truth, but please be gentle with me and others.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

Monte

Written by Monte

February 2, 2006 at 6:04 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Friend!
    What an Idea. Looking forward to sharing some things from tiime to time. Fun reading the comments! Never thought of trying this before thanks for including me!

    Ray

    February 9, 2006 at 4:31 pm

  2. Debbie wrote: Just wondering, is logging in necessary? I see it listed as an option, but didn’t get anywhere with it. Debbie

    Well, you’re talking to a neophyte here, but at this point I have set it so logging in isn’t necessary. Anyone can register with WordPress and have their own blog – and then, if they log in here, I can list their blog as a link.

    Apparently a common challenge with blogs is spam. Another is cranky commentors. So all the comments come to me before they are posted, and I can take out any spam or anything inappropriate. Hopefully, there won’t be a need for that! There are other ways to set it up, and I’ll be thinking a lot about which way is the best, and trying to find my way.

    Thanks for asking!
    Monte

    masbury

    February 5, 2006 at 6:39 pm

  3. I love the idea of blogging about worship. It will be alike a continuous conversation about what God is doing in our lives…that never ends. Like “the never-ending story.”

    All I can add is Monte, your sermons have been home-runs recently. I really like the fresh perspective you bring to the scriptures. More to come.

    Dan

    February 5, 2006 at 3:30 pm

  4. Hi. I’m finding my way around. Really like this idea! Seems like participating will make worship even more meaningful. Just wondering, is logging in necessary? I see it listed as an option, but didn’t get anywhere with it. Debbie

    Debbie

    February 5, 2006 at 3:18 pm

  5. I was OK with socks, but a little puzzled! Smelly? Comfortable? Punchy?

    masbury

    February 4, 2006 at 11:43 pm

  6. Oops I ment Rocks!
    Sharon

    sharon

    February 4, 2006 at 11:27 pm

  7. WOW!!!!
    Here we go.
    When I read this lbog I picture your face and I remember friendship. I probably would not respond with out the connection.
    This format seems simple and user friendly.
    Way to go. This socks
    Sharon

    sharon

    February 4, 2006 at 11:27 pm

  8. Thanks, Terry – lots to learn yet, but finally getting started. I like it!

    masbury

    February 4, 2006 at 2:14 pm

  9. The original version of this blog was fun but this is useful. The possibilities are limitless. Congratulations on a job well done!!

    Terry

    February 4, 2006 at 5:39 am


Leave a Reply

